Governing Body

Descriptions Of The Board Of Governors

Smt. Nandini Chakraborty, IAS

  • Chairman / Principal Secretary
  • Department of Tourism, Government of West Bengal, New Secretariat Building, 3rd Floor, 1, K.S. Roy Road, Kolkata- 700001

She graduated from Lady Brabourne College under Calcutta University and completed her post-graduation from the Centre of Study for Regional Development in the Jawaharlal Nehru University in 1993. She joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1994.

She has since completed 25 years in service. She is presently the Principal Secretary in the Department of Tourism under the Government of West Bengal.

During the two & half decades long career, she has worked as Secretaries in the Departments of Food Processing & Horticulture, Industry, Agriculture, Information & Cultural Affairs, Sundarban Affairs and Biotechnology. She was the District Magistrate of Howrah district. She has been the Managing Director of the West Bengal Industrial Development Corporation(WBIDC) and CEO of West Bengal Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation(WBIIDC). She also worked in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Government of India

Mr. Nisheeth Srivastava

  • Principal / Secretary
  • Principal, Institute Of Hotel Management, Catering Technology & Applied Nutrition, P-16, Taratala Road, Kolkata - 700088

Nisheeth Srivastava is alumnus of IHM, Lucknow from the class of 1986. Along with his Diploma in Hotel Management he did his graduation in Anthropology, and LLB from Lucknow University, MBA from AIMA and Masters in Mass Communication from Kurukshetra University. Presently he is pursuing his Ph.D. in Hospitality from IGNOU.

Started his career as steward from Hyatt Regency, New Delhi in 1986 and thereafter due to his sheer hard work, he rose to the position of Manager in Hotel Madhuban at Dehradun and then General Manager with Country Inn by Usha Group in 1991. Due to his passion in academics he joined JB institute of Hotel Management at Hyderabad in 1995 as Principal. Then moved on to establish an institute in Delhi known as BanarasidasChandiwalaInstitue of Hotel Management in 1999. He joined Federation of Hotel & Restaurant Association of India as Deputy Secretary General and Director for FHRAI Institute in 2001. Became Principal of IHM Srinagar in 2008 and served till 13.09.2017. During the period he won many awards from Ministry of Tourism, Government of India of excellence in the field of Hospitality Education, Skill Certification and Placement. He took over the charge of Principal of IHM, Kolkata at Taratala on 14.09.2017. In between for one year he served as Director Studies at NCHMCT, Noida.

Mr. GyanBhushan, IES

  • Economic Advisor
  • Economic Advisor, Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, Chief Executive Officer, NCHMCT, Noida, Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, 1, Parliament Street, New Delhi – 110 001.

Mr. Gyan Bhushan is CEO of NCHMCT and Economic Adviser in Ministry of Tourism Government of India. He is handling matters concerning NCHMCT, human resource development and Hotel and Restaurant Divisions and financing of tourism infrastructure by central agencies in the Ministry of Tourism

Mr. Gyan Bhushan has previously worked in the financial sector regulations and economic policy making for more than 20 years. Before joining the Ministry of Tourism he was working in the Securities and Exchange Board of India, Mumbai as Executive Director under Ministry of Finance.

He has also worked in various capacities in Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance Government of India. He earlier worked in the pension fund regulatory and development authority as Chief General Manager (CGM) and was in the core team set up for pension reforms including implementation of defined contribution based pension system in India for civil servants and unorganized sector workers.

Mr Bhushan has the distinction of working in various committees and groups in international bodies such as OECD, ADB and World Bank while working in the financial sector.

He was a member of the Task Force on financial consumer protection set up under G-20/OECD and also vice chaired the Task Force which produced report on complaint handling and redress - one of the 10 principles for financial consumer protection identified by G-20. Before that he worked on the pension reforms for the ADB and World Bank projects.

Mr. Bhushan is a member of the Indian Economic Service and holds an MBA degree with distinction from Maastricht School of Management, The Netherlands and a post graduate degree in economics from the Delhi School of Economics, Delhi.

The Financial Advisor

  • Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, Transport Bhavan, 1, Parliament Street, New Delhi – 110 001.

Mr. L.K. Ganguli

  • Director (A&F)
  • National Council For Hotel Management & Catering Technology, Noida (UP), Plot No. A-34, Sector-62, Institutional Area, Noida (UP) - 201309

Mr. Sagnik Chowdhury

  • Regional Director (East)

  • Regional Director (East), Indiatourism, Govt. of India, 4, Shakespeare Sarani, Kolkata – 700 071

Mr. R. S. Shukla, IAS

  • Additional Chief Secretary
  • Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal, Bikash Bhavan, 6th Floor, East Block, Salt Lake City, Kolkata – 700 091.

Mr. S.K. Ram, WBCS (Exe)

  • Joint Secretary

  • Joint Secretary, Department of Finance, Government of West Bengal, Audit Branch, Nabanna, Howrah

The Director

  • Member

Mr. Argha Chakravorty

  • Principal

  • Institute of Hotel Management, Village Bariar, G.T Road, Gurdaspur – 143 521

Mr. Argha Chakravorty, Principal IHM Gurdaspuris a distinguished alumnus of IHM Bhubaneshwar with over three decades of enriched accomplishment in Industry and Academia.

He is a certified ‘Qualified Learning Facilitator’ from Ecolehoteliere de Lausanne, Switzerland & a State level awardee of Punjab for his contribution to the educational excellence.

He is a nominated member of Ministry of Tourism, Govt. of India & Punjab Govt. on the Board of IHM Kolkata & IHM Bathinda respectively, Member of Hotel & Restaurant Classification Committeeetc. His contribution as the Member on the Board of IHM Ahmedabadand Board of Studies of Chandigarh University etc. has been noteworthy. Under his leadership, IHM Gurdaspur achieved various National Level Rankings & Recognitions.

Mr. Sudesh Poddar

  • President, HRAEI

  • President, HRAEI, 8a/1, Everest House, 46, Chowringhee Road, Kolkata - 700071